What's onLocal directoryOffers & competitionsJobsHistoryMapFeatured
Contact usPost an event
Active Kings Chase Shopping Centre Generic Sidebar Kingswood Park Kingswood Business Association Kingswood Autopart

What's on


Monday 18th September 2017, 7:30pm

2017 Talks Season: Clifton Rocks Railway

Kingswood Heritage Museum

Kingswood Heritage Museum's summer series of talks continues with the intriguing story of the Clifton Rocks Railway, which travelled a vertical distance of about 60 metres in connecting Hotwells to the top of the gorge above.

The speaker will be Peter Davey, one of the leading historians of the local transport scene. Peter is chairman of the Rocks Railway Preservation Society, and he will tell us about the origins of the railway in 1893 and its subsequent development. Peter will go on to describe its history following closure as a transport link in 1934, and the efforts of the Preservation Society to bring it back into use.
 

The final talk of this season will be: Monday 16 October : Cyril Routledge “Curiouser and Curiouser”

All talks take place at the Museum commencing at 7.30 pm. The admission fee is £3, which includes light refreshments.

For more information click below to contact the Museum.

The Museum is located in the former Champion Brass Works at Tower Lane, Warmley, Bristol BS30 8XT, just off Avon Ring Road (Cadbury Heath exit). Buses 19, 19A, 42 and 43 stop nearby.

www.kingswoodmuseum.org.uk
Email:



Venue information

Kingswood Heritage Museum
Tower Lane, Warmley, BS30 8XT
www.kingswoodmuseum.org.uk


Curry On Cooking

Smokefree South Gloucestershire

Other events

Wednesday 20th September 2017

Thursday 21st September 2017

Friday 22nd September 2017

Wednesday 27th September 2017

Friday 29th September 2017

Sunday 1st October 2017

Monday 2nd October 2017

Tuesday 3rd October 2017

Wednesday 4th October 2017

Click here for more events.




© 2017 Cromhall Media Ltd